Jane Lynch, Andy Cohen & More Celebs React To President Obama's Gay Marriage Support

President Barack Obama has become the first sitting president to reveal he personally supports gay marriage, and a host of celebrities hit Twitter to react to the news.

On Wednesday afternoon, a day after North Carolina banned gay marriage, the President told ABC’s Robin Roberts in a brand new interview, “I’ve just concluded that, for me personally, it is important for me to go ahead and affirm that I think same-sex couples should be able to get married.”

Bravo’s Andy Cohen, the host of “Watch What Happens Live” was one of the first celebs to Tweet his reaction, writing, “THANK YOU MR. PRESIDENT.”

“Glee’s” Jane Lynch turned the news into a Tweet headline, writing, “Obama: Marriage? Gay is okay!”

Later, she added, “Pretty darn happy today. Thanks Mr President, for supporting the dignity of my family and so many others!”

“The Voice” finalist Tony Lucca also chimed in, Tweeting, “God bless @BarackObama!! #LoveWins.”

Here’s what many other celebs had to say:

Jesse Tyler Ferguson @jessetyler: With @MichelleObama & @JustinMikita permission I would like to marry @BarackObama right now!

Ricky Martin ‏ @ricky_martin: I applaud President @barackobama for affirming that ALL Americans should enjoy equal rights. Historic! I will be a very proud host on Monday

Sean Hayes ‏ @theseanhayes: Thank you to @BarackObama for taking a forward-thinking stance on equality for all gay Americans and for supporting gay marriage.

Sophia Bush ‏ @SophiaBush: Thank you Mr. President. @BarackObama speaks up for #Equality today. #LoveIsLove

Will Sasso ‏ @WillSasso: In honor of @BarackObama’s support of same-sex marriage, here’s a picture of me and the man I’d marry if I were gay. http://pic.twitter.com/jjmPKRlY

Grant Gustin Grant Gustin ‏ @grantgust: YES, OBAMZZ!!!

Kal Penn ‏ @kalpenn: Had the honor of seeing @BarackObama talk w/young ppl about this the last few years. Your voices made a big difference!

Trevor Donovan ‏ @TrevDon: “If you don’t like gay marriage, blame straight people, they’re the ones who keep having GAY babies.”

Fran Drescher ‏ @frandrescher: So proud of our President who showed such leadership& the meaning of America’s freedom 4 all!

Suze Orman ‏ @SuzeOrmanShow: I am soooo PROUD of you PRESIDENT OBAMA YES YES YES it is about time. Marriage Equality is so very very important.

Ana Gasteyer ‏ @AnaGasteyer: Thank you Mr. President for speaking up!!!!

sasha roiz ‏ @sasharoiz: “@BarackObama: “Same-sex couples should be able to get married.”—President Obama” #leadership

MichelleTrachtenberg ‏ @RealMichelleT: Proud to have a President who supports Equality. #Obama

Ricki Lake ‏ @RickiLake: Love is love! #Marriageequality Thank you Mr. President @BarackObama

Rachelle Lefevre ‏ @RachelleLefevre: Better late than never Obama. Welcome to the future. We the people in favor of equality salute you, we’ve been waiting for you.

Diablo Cody ‏ @diablocody: I knew I voted for that guy for a reason.

Bryan Greenberg ‏ @bryangreenberg: Respect to @BarackObama for supporting same sex marriages.

Sandra Bernhard ‏ @SandraBernhard: viva Obama who has just endorsed gay marriage. right on time drop a dime blow your mind.

Simon Pegg ‏ @simonpegg: GO BO!!! :) RT @BBCBreaking US President Barack Obama says same-sex couples should be able to marry

Michael Urie ‏ @michaelurie: Well done, Mr. President. Well done indeed! #MarriageEquality

Evan Rachel Wood ‏ @evanrachelwood: Wooooooo! @BarackObama

Chad Lowe @ichadlowe: President Obama, on the right side of history!

Meghan McCain ‏ @McCainBlogette: Even though he did it a little late under political pressure - very happy to hear the President come out in support of gay marriage.

Debi Mazar ‏ @debimazar: Thankyou Mr.President!

RuPaul’s Drag Race ‏ @RuPaulsDragRace: .@BarackObama… shantay, you stay!

Ross Mathews ‏ @helloross: OMG, it’s official! Obama becomes 1st president to support gay marriage!!! Historic day!

Louis van Amstel ‏ @LouisVanAmstel: Just saw the ABCnews interview w @RobinRoberts n Obama. It was good to hear him say everyone SHOULD b able to get married

Dan Choi ‏ @ltdanchoi: The promise of marriage tells gay soldiers: you are willing to die for America, you should also live, fully equal, in America.

Audra McDonald ‏ @AudraEqualityMc: How many young lives did the President just save by saying that he supports them today? #Equality

Chely Wright ‏ @chelywright: Amen, Audra. xoxo RT“@AudraEqualityMc: How many young lives did the President just save by saying that he supports them today? #Equality”

Michelle Branch ‏ @michellebranch: YAY Obama!! #EqualityForAll

Danny Zuker ‏ @DannyZuker: BREAKING: Obama I voted for finally takes office. #BetterLateThanNever

ERIC BALFOUR ‏ @ERICBALFOUR: Thank you Mr. President for your support of gay marriage…

Copyright 2014 by NBC Universal, Inc. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.