Drew Barrymore & Wanda Sykes To Be Honored By GLAAD

Drew Barrymore and Wanda Sykes will be honored by the Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) at the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards, Access Hollywood has learned.

GLAAD announced Thursday that Drew will receive the Vanguard Award, which is presented to media professionals who have increased the visibility and understanding of the LGBT community.

“I was born, bred and raised among diversity, it has defined me and made me the person I am today,” Drew said in a statement released to Access. “I’m honored and humbled to be receiving this award.”

Past recipients of The Vanguard Award include Charlize Theron, Antonio Banderas, Sharon Stone, Eric McCormack, Elizabeth Taylor, Liza Minnelli, Kathy Griffin and Whoopi Goldberg.

Comedian Wanda Sykes will receive the Stephen F. Kolzak Award which is presented to an openly LGBT media professional who has made a significant difference in promoting equal rights for our community.

“I am truly honored to receive the Stephen F. Kolzak award,” Wanda said in a statement. “I greatly appreciate the work that GLAAD continues to do, promoting equality, fair representation and tolerance for our LGBT community. I just pray that I don’t ruin what GLAAD has achieved with all of my shenanigans.”

Previous recipients of the Stephen F. Kolzak Award include Rufus Wainwright, Melissa Etheridge, Bill Condon, Alan Ball, Ellen DeGeneres, and Sir Ian McKellen.

The 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards will in take place in LA on April 17, 2010 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza. Additional ceremonies will be held in NYC on March 13, 2010 at the Marriott Marquis and in San Francisco on June 5, 2010 at the Westin St. Francis.

Copyright ©
2017 by All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be republished, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Related news

Latest News