‘The Hobbit Films’ Get Titles & Release Dates

Peter Jackson’s two “The Hobbit” movies will hit theaters in 2012 and 2013.

On Monday, New Line Cinema, Warner Bros. Pictures and MGM announced that the first film, “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey,” will be released on December 14, 2012, with the second film, “The Hobbit: There and Back Again,” slated to hit theaters the following year on December 13, 2013.

Martin Freeman – best known for his role on the British version of “The Office” – will star as Bilbo Baggins in the Middle Earth adventure set 60 years before Tolkien’s “The Lord of the Rings” trilogy.

Both movies are currently being shot in New Zealand in 3-D.

As previously reported on AccessHollywood.com, the cast includes many of the original “Lord of The Rings” stars including Ian McKellen as Gandalf the Grey; Cate Blanchett as Galadriel; Orlando Bloom as Legolas; Christopher Lee as Saruman; Hugo Weaving as Elrond; Elijah Wood as Frodo; Ian Holm as the elder Bilbo; and Andy Serkis as Gollum.

Copyright ©
2017 by All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be republished, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Related news

Latest News